Sarah Böttger’s ‘Juuri’ collection

I was browsing through the Wallpaper* Graduate Directory 2011 gallery and came across these delightful containers. I love their subtle colour and shape. The distinctive black split lines compliment their form. They are incredibly versatile because they can be joined in various combinations. I also love the fact these containers were inspired by the glass manufacturing process.

Sarah explained to me “the name Juuri is a finnish word and means the initial shape of the workpiece / source/ origin. The name refers to the fact that all of the shapes lead back to the same basic form.

A finnish word because I studied in Finnland where I also got in contact with glass blowing for the first time. So there is also a personal aspect in the name.”

Sarah Böttger: ‘There are three different shapes, cut in eight different places, that can be joined together in various combinations. I enjoy experimenting with different materials and processing techniques. Traditional crafts can be as fascinating as high-tech methods. I believe that the overlap between them can create interesting collages and unusual results.’  (Source: http://www.wallpaper.com/gallery/art/graduate-directory-2011/17052208/38510#38447)

www.sarahboettger.com

About creative_about_design
Creative About: Contemporary Design/ Stunning Photography/ Stylistic Fashion/ Practical Sensual Design/ New Experiences/ Inspirational Materials

Leave a comment